Subject Guides: Early Childhood Education: Home

Grammarly Premium for Education is a comprehensive spelling, grammar, and PLAGIARISM checker application. Everyone in the Northern College community with a Northern College email address can sign up to use Grammarly for free.

To sign up for Grammarly, click here.

If you experience any issues getting started, please email libraryt@northern.on.ca or text 705-302-1076 for help.

Alexis Edl

She/ Her

Email Me

Contact:

705-235-7150

Welcome to the

Early Childhood Education Study Guide

This subject guide brings together resources for students in the Early Childhood Education program.

What the Library Offers

If you find a book in our catalogue located in another Northern campus library, we would be happy to have it brought in for you. Books borrowed from other campus libraries are subject to the same borrowing policies as those on our shelves.

Northern's Libraries subscribe to a variety of multidisciplinary eBook collections. Our eBooks can be accessed 24/7 online through your internet browser or downloaded to your computer or mobile device.

To use library resources, login using your Northern College email address and password.

Example:

Email address: studentnc1@northernc.on.ca

Email password: hiehl3794jd

If you have trouble logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help or text us at 705-302-1076.

Canada Commons This link opens in a new window Canada's largest online eBook collection offering a rich selection of over 16,000 e-books (fiction and non-fiction) and 50,000 public policy documents within the convenience of an online database.
EBSCO Academic eBook Collection The Academic eBook collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects, Art ,Business and economics, Education, Language arts and discipline, Literary criticism, Medical, Performing arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science. •Religion •Social science •Technology and engineering •Other academic fields
EBSCO Clinical eBook Collection This Clinical eBook Collect is for clinical settings, biomedical libraries, and academic-medical institutions. eBook Clinical Collection features more than 1,700 titles in medical specialties, nursing, allied health, and general practice. The titles in eBook Clinical Collection begin in 2008, and regular updates are made so that newer titles replace the oldest content
EBSCO eBook Collection The eBook Collection is a collection of books presented in a digital format that is provided by Ebsco. The collection contains over 50,000 titles of books, and the full content of each book is intact.
ProQuest eBook Central eBook Central is a subscription-based ebook collection trusted by community, further education, technical and vocational colleges around the world. The collection offers high quality titles from renowned publishers and University Presses including AMACOM, Ashgate Publishing, Bloomsbury, Cengage Learning, Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Oxford University Press, Packt, Palgrave, Wiley, and others.

Northern's Libraries subscribe to a variety of multidisciplinary database collections. Our databases can be accessed 24/7 online through your internet browser.

To use library resources, login using your Northern College email address and password.

Example:

Email address: studentnc1@northernc.on.ca

Email password: hiehl3794jd

If you have trouble logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help or text us at 705-302-1076.

A-Z Research Database List Northern's Libraries subscribe to a number of research databases that support our programs. This link contains a complete listing of the resources we offer.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A popular resource found in many academic settings worldwide, this resource was designed for the premier researcher, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international periodicals in full text, full-text reference books, thousands of full-text biographies and an image collection containing more than one million photos, maps and flags. The collection also includes images from Canadian Press.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing for 2,928 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1981
EBSCO The leading provider of research databases, e-journals, magazine subscriptions, ebooks and discovery service for the academic, medical, corporate.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) The Educator’s Reference Complete is a selection of academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources.
ERIC The ERIC (EBSCO) contains more than 1.6 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
Gale Power Search These Gale databases are collections of articles from periodicals and the articles in them are just as they were published except that you can get to them online. Since they are online, they can be used 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from any location with Internet access.
Gale eBooks Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research, including texts related to American and world history, biography, health, arts, business, travel, religion, and multicultural studies.

Northern's Libraries subscribe to a variety of video streaming collections. Our videos can be accessed 24/7 online through your internet browser.

To use library resources, login using your Northern College email address and password.

Example:

Email address: studentnc1@northernc.on.ca

Email password: hiehl3794jd

If you have trouble logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help or text us at 705-302-1076.

Curio (CBC) Canadian Broadcasting Corporation Educational videos from CBC and Radio-Canada: documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots.
Films on Demand A streaming video collection of educational films from Films Media Group covering a wide range of subject matter.
Kanopy Full-length streamed videos including popular documentaries, feature films, and professional educational films covering the arts, business, education, global studies, health, media and communication, science, social science, and technical training
National Film Board of Canada The collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction

Northern's Libraries subscribe to a variety of multidisciplinary database collections. Our databases can be accessed 24/7 online through your internet browser.

To use library resources, login using your Northern College email address and password.

Example:

Email address: studentnc1@northernc.on.ca

Email password: hiehl3794jd

If you have trouble logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help or text us at 705-302-1076.

Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A popular resource found in many academic settings worldwide, this resource was designed for the premier researcher, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
EBSCO The leading provider of research databases, e-journals, magazine subscriptions, ebooks and discovery service for the academic, medical, corporate.
Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) The Educator’s Reference Complete is a selection of academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources.
ERIC The ERIC (EBSCO) contains more than 1.6 million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
MasterFILE Elite (EBSCO) MasterFILE Elite provides full text for magazines and publications covering an extensive list of general interest topics including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
MAS Ultra - School Edition

Ask the Library

Text @ 705-302-1076

Haileybury

Monday to Thursday 8am-8pm
Friday 8am-6pm
Saturday & Sunday 10am-4pm

Kirkland Lake
Monday to Friday 8am-8pm (Closed for Lunch 12-1)
Saturday & Sunday Closed

Timmins

Monday to Thursday 8am-9pm
Friday 8am-6pm
Saturday & Sunday 12pm-4pm