Subject Guides: Academic Upgrading: Databases

ASME Complete Codes & Standards Digital Collection

Understanding the world of standards helps students analyze problems, model different outcomes, and find the appropriate solution.

Prepare students to meet the challenging demands of industry
Supply tools that enable students to bridge theory with practice
Build confidence in applying engineering principles across different applications

Popular Academic Upgrading Databases

To use library resources, login using your Northern College email address and password.

Example:

email address: studentnc1@northernc.on.ca

email password: hiehl3794jd

If you have trouble logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help or text us at 705-302-1076

A-Z Research Database List Northern's Libraries subscribe to a number of research databases that support our programs. This link contains a complete listing of the resources we offer.

Gale Academic Onefile This link opens in a new window The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals, this comprehensive resource covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. With millions of articles in both PDF and HTML full-text format and simultaneous, unlimited usage, researchers are able to find accurate, timely information quickly.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A popular resource found in many academic settings worldwide, this resource was designed for the premier researcher, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international periodicals in full text, full-text reference books, thousands of full-text biographies and an image collection containing more than one million photos, maps and flags. The collection also includes images from Canadian Press.
EBSCO The leading provider of research databases, e-journals, magazine subscriptions, ebooks and discovery service for the academic, medical, corporate.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) Funk & Wagnalls provides full text for each record easily accessed by double-clicking on the topic from the display. The database contains various images and offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
MasterFILE Elite (EBSCO) MasterFILE Elite provides full text for magazines and publications covering an extensive list of general interest topics including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.
News (Gale OneFile) The database allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section. Includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts allowing users to easily save, share, and download articles, which helps educators improve student engagement.
Career Cruising This link opens in a new window Career Cruising is a comprehensive resource for students to gather information about career choices from career development to educational options to job search.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Academic Upgrading: Databases

Popular Academic Upgrading Databases

Ask the Library

Text @ 705-302-1076

Featured Articles