Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northern College Libraries Home Page

English as a Second Language: Home

Books & DVDsPeriodicalseBooksOnline Videos  Databases Subject Guides

 

 Grammarly Logo with a Green Circle and a White G

 

Grammarly Education is a comprehensive spelling, grammar, and PLAGIARISM checker application.

To sign up for Grammarly, do ONE of the following:

Please chat with us at Ask the Library or text your request to 705-302-1076. Please provide us with your college email address in the text and the word "GRAMMARLY".
OR 
Email libraryt@northern.on.ca from your college email, or provide your college email if using your personal email address and the word "GRAMMARLY".

Profile Photo
Shannon Arsenault
She, Her
Contact:
4715 Hwy. 101 East
South Porcupine, ON P0N 1H0
705-235-3211 ext. 6816

Welcome to the
English as a Second Language Study Guide

Learning a new language or trying to improve your English language skills is always daunting.  From speaking to writing, Northern's Libraries can help you get a handle on English and help you succeed.

What the Library Offers

If you find a book in our catalogue located in another Northern campus library, we would be happy to have it brought in for you.  Books borrowed from other campus libraries are subject to the same borrowing policies as those on our shelves.

Northern's Libraries subscribe to a variety of multidisciplinary eBook collections. Our eBooks can be accessed 24/7 online through your internet browser or downloaded to your computer or mobile device.

To use library resources, you must log in using your library card # and PIN.  Your library card is your student or staff ID number.  Your PIN is the last four digits of your student or staff  ID #.  If you experience difficulty logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help.

 

Northern's Libraries subscribe to a variety of multidisciplinary database collections. Our databases can be accessed 24/7 online through your internet browser.

To use library resources, you must log in using your library card # and PIN.  Your library card is your student or staff ID number.  Your PIN is the last four digits of your student or staff  ID #.  If you experience difficulty logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help.

Northern's Libraries subscribe to a variety of video streaming collections. Our videos can be accessed 24/7 online through your internet browser.

To use library resources, you must log in using your library card # and PIN.  Your library card is your student or staff ID number.  Your PIN is the last four digits of your student or staff  ID #.  If you experience difficulty logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help.

Northern's Libraries subscribe to a variety of multidisciplinary database collections. Our databases can be accessed 24/7 online through your internet browser.

To use library resources, you must log in using your library card # and PIN.  Your library card is your student or staff ID number.  Your PIN is the last four digits of your student or staff  ID #.  If you experience difficulty logging in, please use the Ask The Library button for help.

Chat with us at Ask the Library Service or text us at 705-302-1076

Haileybury
Monday - Thursday
8 AM - 8 PM
Friday
8 AM - 4 PM

Kirkland Lake
By Appointment Only.

Timmins
Monday - Friday
8 AM - 9 PM