International Student Handbook: Health Insurance

MORCARE Health Insurance

All mandatory student fees are also referred to as ancillary/student fees, which include fees for health insurance. It is provided by MORCARE, a OHIP Alternative Insurance.

Coverage begins on the first day of classes and not from the date you arrive in Canada. If your arrival date is prior to the start of classes, it is strongly recommended that you purchase travel insurance, including health insurance coverage, to cover yourself until the first official day of classes.

We encourage you to purchase insurance before you leave your home country, while on break, and after you have completed your program.

Information to Note

• Tuition must be paid in full in order for the MORCARE policy to be effective for the current term.
• Coverage does not include over-the-counter medication.
• It does not cover any pre-existing conditions.
• Read the policy carefully once you receive your card. Remember to contact MORCARE for approval if any diagnostic tests are required. Phone: 416-216-5735
• It is also important to note that coverage is for registered students of Northern College only. This coverage does extend to spouses or children, If they are add the family members at the start of their starting semester. If you have to add a spouse or any dependents after the starting of your semester you will have an additional Insurance fee .
• The health care insurance is a basic package that is subject to change on an annual basis.
• Not all conditions are covered, so you must review the coverage details prior to arriving in Canada. This will allow time to purchase additional coverage if needed.